Paleo Nutty D’Angelo Recipe

IMG_1213

My husband had taken me to Perry’s Steakhouse for my birthday a couple weeks ago, and when I looked at the dessert menu, I found the Nutty D’angelo dessert.  It’s made with ice cream, and that would have killed my stomach, so I decided to change it up a bit and make a Paleo version. I used white chocolate, which is not Paleo because of the dairy in it, but you can use dark chocolate instead. I was unsure about it when I made it, but it came out really good and everyone loved it, so I had to post it on here. It pretty much taste like a white chocolate snickers ice cream bar. My father in law rates this dessert in the top 5 best desserts he has ever had.

Paleo Nutty D’angelo Recipe

1 Pint Coconut Milk Dairy Free Vanilla Ice Cream

1 12oz Bag White Chocolate Chips or Dark Chocolate

1 1/2 cups slices almonds

Coconut Nectar or, Honey or Maple Syrup

Cinnamon

Coconut Oil

Take out your pint of ice cream and let sit for 5 minutes so it melts a little. With a spoon dump the whole pint into a plate and put in the freezer. In a sauce pan over medium heat, warm up a spoonful of coconut oil. Toss in your almonds and sprinkle a little cinnamon and drizzle your sweetener in. Be careful not to burn it, should be lightly toasted.  When done, put your almonds into a bowl and put in the freezer for about 5 mins to cool off.  Then take out your ice cream and almonds and pour on top of ice cream using a spoon to cover it all. Then put back in freezer. While that is in the freezer, in a small sauce pan melt your chocolate over low heat. If it starts to stick add a little almond or coconut milk. When melted remove from heat and pour on top of your ice cream mixture.  Sprinkle with cinnamon and drizzle your sweetener on top.  Freeze for about 10 mins or until ready to serve.  We just grabbed 4 spoons and ate straight off the plate.  Enjoy!

One thought on “Paleo Nutty D’Angelo Recipe

Leave a Reply

